To buy or not to buy: FLEX 1500 or QS1R?
FlexRadio Systems Forums
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

To buy or not to buy: FLEX 1500 or QS1R? Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, July 15, 2013 11:16 AM
I am torn between purchasing a Flex 1500 and a QS1R and adding the necessary interface to use an existing transmitter. There are several things I wish to discuss before finalizing my decision.

1.  Bad AM transmit audio:  Is this the norm, and if so, how does one overcome it? I am an AM operator and expect to put out a clean intelligible signal. With some of the name brand 100w solid state radios I overcame their bad AM transmit audio by adding a W2IHY EQ-Plus. That took marginally acceptable AM audio and changed it to excellent quality transmit audio, that of which I regularly receive comments like "great audio", or "If you didn't tell me, I'd swear you were on a vintagle tube boat anchor", etc.

2.  I am an Air Force MARS operator and need to transmit outside of the amateur bands, throughout the spectrum. How difficult is it to get the necessary adjustment to the Flex 1500 in order to do MARS?

3.  I've read past posts about difficulty doing digital modes with the Flex radios, mainly as a result of needing a major educational degree in setup of VAC. Is it actually that difficult? Is there any relief for that problem?

4. I have also read post posts about un-acceptable latency on CW. I also do much CW and if this is a problem that cannot easily be overcome, I may go another route.

5. I do Intruder Watch and OO work and am looking for an ample means of spectrum analysis, moreso than my Icom IC756 Pro II can give. With the appropriate software package, is the Flex 1500 up the the job, or would I be better off with the QS1R in this case?