Grounding a FLEX-1500
FlexRadio Systems Forums
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

Grounding a FLEX-1500 Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, January 9, 2013 1:47 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, February 4, 2013 11:54 AM
I will preface this with saying I am a total newby to Ham Radio (only had my license for 2 months). I managed to pick up a slightly used FLEX-1500 and I have a grounding question. My "Ham Shack" is really just the corner of my desk in home office on the second story of our 10 year old house. I understand I need to ground the FLEX-1500. Is there a reason I cannot just buy a 3 pronged plug from Home Depot and use the round ground prong to connect to my radio ground? I am not planning on running a lot of power. Current plan is to eventually add a RM Italy HLA 150V Plus Professional Linear Amplifier. I am hoping I can "get by" with just using the house electrical ground to ground my equipment, but I am guessing there is probably a reason people don't do that. Any advice for a simple grounding solution would be appreciated. 

AJ

Post #6275
Posted Wednesday, January 9, 2013 4:59 PM

Junior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior Member

Last Login: Wednesday, January 9, 2013 4:48 PM
The answer is - your going to have problems grounding in that fashion. Especially on higher HF bands. Second floor operation will compound problems.

Best thing I can tell you here. If you don't have one, go to the Library and read all about Grounding in the ARRL HANDBOOK. That's just for Starters.

Your 1500 can do all kinds of strange things with a "poor" ground. especially on the second floor the length of wire to R.F. Ground can be long enough that it becomes "Hot and the chassis of the radio will have RF on it. Then there are "Ground loops"...